From Adventures in Odyssey to Compassion International

th I have officially taken a new role with Compassion International and am very excited about this new journey. I am sad to be leaving Focus on the Family and my beloved Adventures in Odyssey, but after a lot of prayer and conversations with my family and trusted friends, Ashley and I know this to be the right choice for our family’s future. Yes, I love Adventures in Odyssey and my role as Odyssey Adventure Club producer has been a blessing, a dream job for sure. Focus on the Family and Adventures in Odyssey have given me so much, and I have met and worked with many amazing people. But the truth is, my family and our future as a family is always the focus of the decisions Ashley and I make, and this new role allows our family to have a lifestyle we’ve been wanting. I will be a Regional employee so I work from home, we can live anywhere in the US we want to (No COS friends we aren’t leaving), or work from anywhere in the US for extended periods of time. There will be travel that we can do as a family, and we look forward to this new chapter in our life.Odyssey_Adventure_Club_LOGO_CMYK We often have to look back to see the amazing things God did or is doing in our lives or how He has been preparing us for something all along, this job is that sort of story. And in ways beyond my expectation he’s been confirming the decision was the right one. I’ve needed this, because I have been having a hard time of letting go (No I’m not breaking into a Disney song). Who wouldn’t have a hard time, being the OAC producer is an amazing job, an amazing opportunity. But I always try taking control, putting everything within my hands to craft what I want. I learned this last fall when it came to giving, and giving willingly and freely, that everything is better when you trust God and remain obedient to Him. So yes I am leaving an awesome job, but I feel strongly that God is taking our family to something greater. His plans are always better than ours.

Categories: Adventures in Odyssey, Jobs, Odyssey Adventure Club | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “From Adventures in Odyssey to Compassion International

  1. Jennifer

    Wow…(feeling both sad and happy for you guys). I’ll definitely be praying for you and your family as you take on this new challenge. But we’ll definitely be sad to lose our opportunity to “pop in” and see you at FOTF when we come through Co.Springs (which is not to say we couldn’t still find a way to say hi when we are in town). Wishing you great new adventures in this opportunity. 🙂

    • Yep you can still look me up! PLEASE DO! I think you or Ryan have my number right?

      • Jennifer

        Absolutely (we both have your cell #). We’ll be in Co.Springs in either mid- or very late-August – Ryan is going to Summit the last two weeks in August – so we’ll be in touch once we finalize our plans and see if we can meet up.

    • SUMMIT IS AWESOME!!

  2. traceyeyster

    Brock…from the moment we connected through our work it has been obvious you are a man after God’s own heart and that God has amazing plans for your life! And the way you love your wife and kids is a beautiful thing to see! Compassion is blessed beyond measure to have you working for them!!! Praying all God’s best for you and yours! Go get em!!! and Go God!!!

  3. Congratulations, Brock!

    Radical obedience isn’t always easy…
    but it always works out, for our good, and for God’s glory.

    This is going to be amazing. 🙂

  4. I know that’s a hard decision for you to make, and I’m sure there will be a lot of changes going on in your lives. I will be praying for you. 🙂

  5. Luke 1:38a teen

    Does this mean you are not doing Social Shout Out???

    • That will have to be seen. Evan hasn’t worked at Focus for a year, and we’ve been still doing it. But it just depends. If fans realy want it and ask for it, then I am sure we will do our best to continue. But the fans have to let them know.

  6. Brock, I know these sorts of moments are scary and exciting both. I’ll be praying for you and your family!

  7. I’ll miss you brock i am a big fan of your work! 🙂 good luck!

  8. Adventures in Odyssey won’t be the same without you. God bless you on your new adventure. Just promise me that you’ll finish the Quest for Truth Series. 🙂

  9. Sheyenne

    Oh, wow. It’s not gonna be the same without you on AIO, but I’m definitely happy for you getting this new job! Congratulations, and I hope it works out wonderfully! May God bless you as you follow Him in this new chapter of your life. =)

    P.S. Still on seat’s edge from Quest for Truth. o.o *Waits sort of patiently for Tangle* You’re an excellent writer! One of my top favorites, along with Bryan Davis. (I am addicted to dragons @.@) I’m really interested in your Sages of Darkness series; It’s definitely going on my “Next Read” list.

    …My P.S. was longer than my comment. Ah, I tend to ramble. Anyways, God bless!

  10. Congratulations! I am happy for this wonderful new journey for you and your family, but of course sad to see you go. Thanks for all of your hard work these last several years in keeping AIO fresh. I will never forget the fantastic tour of the offices and war room you gave to us Carlstroms, and the help with the tickets at the live show in Dallas.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.